…and a curse?

If you have a little Amy Bride voodoo doll out there that you’re sticking pins in…

feel free to stop

… no, seriously.

For a while now I’ve been joking with Kevin that our wedding is cursed! (Please note that in deciding it was cursed I didn’t even factor in the disaster that was our engagement or ANY of the Say Yes to the Dress Drama)

It all started when we were just a few months in, and got a new wedding planner. Disney Fairytale Weddings and Honeymoons are going through some staffing changes, and many of their employees are moving around. It was fine. I barely knew the other wedding planner, and we hadn’t done much… so no biggie!  Our new planner was super organized, friendly, and helpful. Things were good, and we got moving on the planning stuff!

A great deal goes into planning a wedding that is 1000 miles from home, but I felt like we had worked nearly every detail out between the planner and I: We know what the organist and violinist are playing when I walk down the aisle. We know what the violinist is playing for our first dance. We know what flavors the cake is, the topper, and the design. We know the timeline for the day. We know that while a limo is taking us to and from the ceremony we are then switching to a party bus and town car to get everyone from dinner to the dessert party. We know where everyone is staying on site. We know that I have a custom aisle runner that must be placed before the ceremony. We know what floral changes I’ve made. We know that I have two separate photography companies. We know that I have a special menu for the dessert party, and where we are in EPCOT. … You get where I’m going here?  WE had done a lot, and there was a lot to know!

Now, chronologically… I have to pause the wedding planner story to also tell you a few of the other reasons that I thought we may have a curse: As you may know, I am engaged to Jack Skellington himself. Kevin is quite tall, and is also very slender for his frame. This results in him having odd sizes in lots of clothing. By the time we get his wrists covered and his shoulders aren’t ripping the shirt, his waist looks like he could stuff a VW Beetle in there.  J.CREW just happened to have a killer sale, and we found an AMAZING deal on the suit that he is set on wearing to the wedding. (Yeah, we’re not tux people…)

Won’t Kevin be so fetching in this? He has a vest, but I’m still trying to persuade him toward considering suspenders!

 

Problem is: the sale was online… so he wasn’t able to try it on. Our solution: buy the pants unhemmed, and have the vest and jacket taken in. What I didn’t realize: finding a good tailor is apparently quite difficult. (I keep thinking of the Friends episode where Joey sends everyone to his tailor!) We finally found someone that came well recommended, and I made time to stop in to set something up. When I did so I found out that the gentleman working on the suit had passed away! Talk about eerie! I hid my shock, and politely sent my condolences to the family. Yup, things are not going as planned here!

Kevin and I got our wedding bands ordered this summer. Because my engagement ring was custom, the wedding band had to be made to fit up against the engagement ring. I also wanted to have the bands engraved with a word and our wedding date. Since our wedding date is unique in that it is almost a palindrome… I wanted the date to read: 12.02.2012. I guess I stressed the “zero two” part a little too much. Kevin picked up the rings early in September and dropped them off to me. I automatically noticed that they had been engraved with the wrong date. It read “12.20.2012”. OOPS!

The rings basically look like this, but there had to be a couple diamonds added to the center part that cradles the engagement ring’s center stone so that it fit inside the little notch there.

A week or so later, I got an email from our planner letting us know that she was accepting another position, and introducing us to her replacement. I thought: “This can’t be good.” I even jokingly made a facebook post in which I insinuated it was me running them all off.

Here’s the thing… I know what you’re thinking: I probably shouldn’t even be writing this blog, right? I mean… it’s like saying, “Boy, things could not get worse!” I’ve always said that when you say something like that, the universe says, “Challenge accepted.” The thing is, though, it is just funny to make jokes about it. It helps to make things less stressful to just laugh about them. We are nearing the time that I was about ready for my hair to fall out in preparation for this shindig… and I feel remarkably calm compared to where I figured I would be. Now, I surely have prewedding jitters and still cry anytime I see anyone getting married (in real life or on t.v.)… but I’m keeping it together. Day-by-day and piece-by-piece… it is all coming together, and I’m happy. I have so much to be grateful for… and making jokes about the little bumps on the road helps me to remember just how lucky I am.

We’re incredibly lucky! Our new wedding planner had ‘researched’ our wedding and had studied up on everything! By the time I met her she was as up-to-date as I was and even reminded me of a few things that I still needed to do! The new tailor that we found is a wonderfully sweet woman that has been nothing but accommodating of our busy schedules, does great work, and is cheaper than most in the area. I even took her my reception dress to have the back taken out and rebuilt! (Imagine me explaining to Kevin that I wanted a custom dress redone to be ‘more customized’…HELLO, laces leave a little more ‘wiggle room’ than a zipper!) The jewelers were incredibly helpful (and apologetic) and are redoing the rings with no fuss at all! We still have plenty of time to have them redone… and it even leaves us time to get the rings sized if need be (mine was a bit snug once it sat against the other). Heck, everything is going well! I’ve had THREE of my bridesmaids start new jobs in the last couple of months, and one is about to welcome a new member to her family.

Kevin and I are lucky. We are blessed with wonderful family and friends that support us, we’ve worked with some awesome people throughout this planning, and as long as we’re married at the end of all of this… then we got what we were looking for. I’ll be perfectly content.

Sometimes it takes something bad happening

to remind you just how great things are!

 

This entry was posted in Bridal Motivation, The Ceremony and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

