Bridal Motivation – A place to relax.

This summer presented a great deal of stress, work, heat, and sunshine! I decided to use each of them to my advantage in my own little garden! We don’t have a yard here, so I had to get creative when it came to how to grow myself some plants. I started back in April with just little seeds inside jiffy pots in my drafty office window. (It gets the best light, and a mini-personal heater right next to them tricked the seedlings into thinking it was an early spring warm spell. Before long I had myself some sprouts! By may I had tons of small plants just begging to be hardened enough to be put outside! (I sort of make the plants sound like Pinocchio, huh?)

I used a kiddie pool, several laundry-sized plastic totes, some small flower pots, and a cat litter tub (don’t worry — I scrubbed it like there was no tomorrow, plus it only held clean litter.) I drilled holes in the bottoms of the sides, and filled the bottoms of the containers with rocks and pebbles to help with drainage. I put dirt, top soil, and fertilizer over the rocks. After the plants got started I began caging most of them so that they could grow upwards rather than outwards.

Some of the containers making up my 'urban garden'.

By the end of the summer I had put a great deal of time into my garden, had some time alone with my thoughts, had some fights with garden pests, made some mistakes, and grew myself some vegetables. There is nothing like having a feast of things that you grew yourself from seeds. It was a bittersweet feeling, actually.

This summer I learned some valuable lessons from basil, beans, cucumbers, lettuce, onions, peppers, squash, and tomatoes. Those lessons weren’t just about what to do and not to do in a garden, they weren’t just about watering or sunlight: they were lessons of dedication,  patience, and how to nurture. Those lessons won’t soon be forgotten, and it isn’t just because I plan to have (an even better) garden next summer!

My first harvest of the summer.

This entry was posted in Bridal Motivation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

