Bridal Must Haves – Eyes

Never bend your head. Always hold it high. Look the world straight in the eye.

Helen Keller

The story of life is quicker then the blink of an eye, the story of love is hello, goodbye.

Jimi Hendrix

The eye of a human being is a microscope, which makes the world seem bigger than it really is.

Khalil Gibran

Every closed eye is not sleeping, and every open eye is not seeing.

Bill Cosby

The eye is the window of the soul.

unknown


Now that I’ve been philosophical, let’s get superficial… shall we? Instead of talking about what people say about your eyes, let’s talk about what your eyes say about you! I absolutely L-O-V-E eyeshadows, eyeliners, mascara, and etc!

No, I don’t have the time to wear an entire face of makeup every single day… but that doesn’t mean that I don’t enjoy it! I remember being a young girl, and being sooo anxious to be allowed to wear makeup! I have memories of an aunt saying that she couldn’t go anywhere without “putting on her face.” Over the years I’ve heard so many women (not to mention their significant others…) complain about the amount of time it takes them to get ready. That is not something that you will hear me ever say! I love makeup, and the more time that I have to get ready… the more time I take to get ready. I can stretch getting ready out into two hours! Between coffee, shower (take the coffee in there), news, feeding the pets, coffee, makeup, coffee, and hair… I could easily waste two hours! Of course, those days are few and far between! Every now and then when I get one, I’m grateful.

Sometimes taking pride in your appearance can make you feel more confidant, or own the self worth that you know you deserve. Maybe smokey eyes make you feel like a movie star on the red carpet. Maybe it is because it feels like you are 6 years old playing dress-up again!

Whatever it is, I get giddy over eye makeup!

If you do too… check out some of my favs below:

Anastasia Brow Pencil

This brow filler is long lasting, and even has a comb on the end!

As if I haven’t already shared enough personal information on this blog: I have very thin, light, non-existent eyebrows! I could put all the eyeshadow in the world on, but if I don’t have an eyebrow to stop it from running into my forehead –I’ll look pretty silly, huh? This brow pencil lasts all day, and helps me fake some pretty decent brows! I get it in Ash Blonde (it is a nice taupe color).

Urban Decay Eyelash Primer Potion

This magic potion is perfect for the fairytale blog!

Every good eye needs some priming! Just like my brows, I don’t have much when it comes to eyelashes either! Urban Decay is well known for their cult favorites! They have all sorts of different beauty potions like eyeshadow, face, and lip primer. This eyelash primer is just the potion for me! Wave this magic wand before your favorite mascara for lashes that appear thicker, longer, and stronger—right before your very eyes! Just apply Eyelash Primer Potion, let it dry, and apply your fave mascara—you won’t believe your eyes!

Lancome DÉFINICILS – High Def Mascara

Over the eyelash potion, this stuff is near magic too!

I got a mini version of this in one of those free sets you get with a purchase, and had to have it! A couple of important things to always check on in a mascara: Ophthalmologist-tested. Fragrance-Free. Suitable for contact lens wearers. I mention another nice mascara from Smashbox later in this post, so read on!

Chanel Stylo Yeux Waterproof Eyeliner

This one can outlast the light of day, even if you put it on before the sun came up!

I have some liquid black liners that I love, but those are for a perfect line! A crayon liner like this blends so well for a smokey eye! Just use a liner brush (or in my case… your pinkey finger or a Q-tip!) This liner lasts FOREVER! (be prepared to need an eye makeup remover to get this one off even after a 12 hour day!) It outlasts my energy, that’s for sure!

Clinique Cream Shaper for Eyes

Love, love, love this stuff!

When I don’t wear black eyeliner, I absolutely love this chocolate color! It lasts well, is easily applied, and softens any look. Sometimes black is just too harsh for a thick line above your lashes. When I use earthy tones on my eyes I rely on this stuff! I use this liner to make a thick line over my eyes, I pull it out into a little bit of a cat-eye that I blend into the crease, and then put a thin little line of black liquid liner right along my lashes. I love this one so much that I’ve gotten it in green, purple, white, and grey!

Smashbox for Burlesque Train Case Beauty Kit

Not ready to move out to L.A. ? You can get the stars in your eyes Burlesque style!

In case you haven’t seen Burlesque yet… it just may want to make you run away to L.A. to become a dancer! I wanted to! Instead, I just decided to stay here and just go for the makeup! Actually, this kit was a gift from a good friend for my birthday this past year. I have used every single thing from the kit, and even use the train case to keep my nail polishes that won’t fit in my big case!

This kit includes:
– Hyperlash Mascara in Blackout.
– Limitless Liquid Liner Pen in Jet Black.
– Double Ended Lip Gloss in Peep/Show.
– O-Glow Intuitive Cheek Color.
– Cream Eyeliner Palette in Vixen.
– Eyeshadow Quad in Entice.
– Fusion Soft Lights in Tease.
– Loose Shimmer in Burlesque.

I must say, I love every single product in this kit… but a couple of them really need mentioning! The O-Glow cheek color comes out completely clear, and then changes to pink to match your natural blushing color! My guess is that it has something to do with your temperature… but HEY I’m impressed! Also, the Cream Eyeliner Palette is awesome! It has 10 different colors and a neat little brush all squeezed into a compact the size of about 6 stacked business cards! I use it not just as eyeliner, but even in the creases!

Sephora Collection Color Diary

This is the perfect kit for the on-the-go lady! It is a great mix of neutral and funky colors, so you have a look for every look!

Okay, so this isn’t just for the eyes… but I love it! I’m thinking that you now know that I am a sucker for these kits! This set consists of a portable compact with five snap-in palettes. Each palette is event-themed with color coordinated eyeshadow, lip gloss, and blush. This one is great for travel since you can leave the giant palette behind: just choose a smaller palette, snap it into the compact, and go!

The different interchangeable color palettes are:
– Hot Date At Eight: Seductive, smoky grays and black
– Relax And Unplug: Shimmery nudes and soft browns
– Meditation Retreat: Soothing greens and browns
– Day At The Museum: Primary colors like red, yellow and blue
– Must Get New Shoes: Flirty pinks and purples

Clinique Colour Surge Eyeshadow Trio

I love these shimmery neutral colors!

This included applicator has a brush on the other end that is great to highlighter below the brow! The creamy, intense shadows build quickly and blend easily for lasting color. You can layer it for a more intense look, and the small compact travels well! (It is also a mirror, so great on the go!) Again – my favorite perk: Ophthalmologist tested. Safe for sensitive eyes and contact lens wearers.

Too Faced World Domination Tour Box

This reminds me of a jewelry box with a dancing ballerina that I had when I was a little girl... minus the whole makeup thing!

This one came to me as a Christmas gift from a friend. She said, “I saw that, and thought: I have to get that for Amy she loves these funky colors!” Boy, was she right! I absolutely love the Too Faced World Domination Tour All Access Backstage Beauty Collection! It contains everything you need to glow like a star! It has eight Eyeshadows, a Duo Bronzer, a Face Illuminator, six Lip Glosses, a Brow Powder, an Eyeliner Cake, and a Blush. The best part: When opened, the World Domination Tour plays the Dance of the Sugar plum Fairy while the Envy figurine twirls in place. The makeup trays may also be removed so that it can be used as a musical keepsake jewelry box.

Estee Lauder Bronze Goddess

The perfect colors to turn any Beach Bunny into an Island Goddess!

This eyeshadow palette is from the Bronze Goddess line that I mentioned in a previous blog. It is called Island Oasis. It is perfect for summer, and these colors are designed to look great with tan skin! (Spray tan or a tan achieved with tons of sunscreen, of course) I haven’t had the guts to use the turquoise color, but it sure is pretty!

Bare Escentuals Women of B.E. Collection

Sensitive eyes? These shadows are perfect!

Last, but not least we have a Bare Escentuals kit. Every now and then my eyes will get irritated, and this eyeshadow doesn’t make that worse. They all have a light shimmer, go on without creases, and stay put! I’ve even worn some of these at the beach! My favorite color is called Nude Beach it is a translucent shimmer that I use on my brow bone, or over other eyeshadows to give them some pizazz! This isn’t the actual kit that I have. I took it out of the box, and can’t remember what it is. The one that I have consists of really neutral colors, and only a few of those funky ones!

So there you have it! Some of my all-time eye favorites!

Picking a look for the wedding is going to be impossible!

Do you have a thing for eyeshadow? Any favorite products?

This entry was posted in Bridal Must Haves. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bridal Must Haves – Eyes

  1. Stephanie S says:

    Ok, I loved this post so much I had to tweet it! I LOVE eye makeup! It’s my most favorite thing to do – well, except for slicking on the lipstick (which I do very last.) I’m working on a blog goal list, and one of my goals is 30 new makeup looks – I can’t frickin’ wait to do this. Eyeshadow is my favorite thing – the Avon lady at my office totally hooks me up with all the latest crap. I have so many damn glimmersticks eyeliners (the glittery ones practically make me blind during the day, but whatever!) Just love it, Amy! You’ve found your blogging niche – fashion and makeup. Because you have SO damn much! Now go check out my friend Holly’s blog – she’s from Columbus, we’ve had dinner, she’s too damn awesome, and is a total fashionista! Read her 30 for 30 fashion remix posts 🙂 http://runninginstilettosblog.blogspot.com/2011/03/30-for-30-shine.html

    • I’m glad that you liked it, Stephanie! I am working on a “Lip Stuff Blog” this weekend! I have tons of lipsticks, lipglosses, lip-liners, and etc… and really I usually only use Vaseline to keep my lips from chapping! haha I love, love, love makeup! I love dressing up! I don’t have the time to do any of it nearly enough, but I do appreciate having the time to do so! I was worried that I wasn’t blogging enough, so was thinking of other things linked to a wedding that weren’t necessarily linked to mine. Unfortunately, we can’t make any more decisions until we’ve met a planner… and have a real date. I just can’t do tons of venue, decoration, invitation, stuff until I know what I’m aiming for!

      I just loved your guest post on the love, stress, faith blog. So motivational!

      I’ve already subscribed to Holly’s Blog!

      Thanks again for everything.

Leave a Reply

