Bridal Must Haves – Face

Okay, so I could go on and on with things that I consider bath and body! Expect a must haves for “smells” in the near future! I was wondering what should be my first must haves, and then I thought “well how do I start my day?”

That answer is coffee. Truth be told, it isn’t actually something that I have to do. I don’t get up and make coffee for myself if Kevin is in town. He gets up first, he makes coffee, and brings me a cup to help me wake up. The thing that makes me so lucky is that Kevin doesn’t even drink coffee! I could blog about coffee, since it is one of those unappreciated favs, but I don’t think you want a blog about that… so the next thing that I do is: I wash my face. I usually wash my face before brushing my teeth or showering. I guess it helps me wake up.

This blog is about some of my favorite facial products!

 

CeraVe

This is a super gentle cleansing lotion. I use it in the morning only. I tried using it at night, and it just didn’t leave my face feeling clean enough. I was given this by my dermatologist, but you can buy it over the counter. It is in the pharmacy at our Walmart, but you just have to ask for it. This is wonderful for sensitive skin. It has really saved me when my face was sore or peeling from sunburn or other products. I use a couple of prescription topical ointments that can interact with the other making my skin really dry and flaky. This stuff really helps nurse it back to health. CeraVe also makes a gentle moisturizer that can be used on your body or face. It is light, doesn’t leave you greasy, and it way more economical than buying an expensive facial lotion!

Lancome Absolute Replenishing Cream

This stuff lasts forever! Less than a pea size is plenty!

Even though my skin can be really dry, it also gets really oily. I can have ‘shiny-face’ by 10am! I don’t usually use a lotion under my makeup. Instead, I use a prescription medicine called Duac on my face, and then put this stuff around my eyes. It helps keep the medicine from soaking into my delicate eye area and making it tender. It makes me feel like I might keep wrinkles at bay just a little longer! If I’m dry I’ll take a break from the normal stuff and use this, or a tinted moisturizer all over my face. It has SPF 15, so that is an added bonus!

Clearasil

Ole Faithful!

This one is tried and true since I was about 13. I use this stuff at the end of the day to remove my makeup. It is rich and foamy, so I feel like it gets most of the makeup off. It even breaks down eye makeup really well! I’ve even gotten the Walmart generic version of this stuff, and it works just as well! The only downfall with either one is that it leaves rings in the sink that are like soap-scum. This is how I start off my night-time routine. I wash with this, and rinse my makeup away. Then I wash again with:

St. Ives Naturally Clear Green Tea Cleanser

This stuff is great!

I used to use the Apricot Scrub from St. Ives, and then I got my Clarisonic. Once I started using it, I didn’t need the harsh scrub anymore, and moved to this wash. It is very mild, smells great, and is really cheap! Careful though, knock it over on accident and it leaks all over! St. Ives also has this awesome commitment to being natural. They don’t test on animals, use parabens or phthalates, they use eco-friendly packaging, and use as many all natural ingredients as possible. I lather up with this, and then use my Clarisonic:

Clarisonic Mia

Yup, you guessed it... I have the pink one!

This little gem was all the rage a couple of years ago everywhere from Sephora to QVC! Dermatologists love it, and so do I! It has a vibrating brush head that you use to exfoliate your skin. I move it around in small circles as I wash. You can use any facewash that you want with it, and it is proven to help any product that you use after you wash your face soak in better. It really exfoliates like nothing I’ve ever used, and it is so gentle. If I haven’t used it for a day or two I can really tell! It has a built in timer, and kicks off after a minute or so. It’s rechargeable, small enough for travel, and the brushes only need replaced every few months or so. It even warns you with a series of pulses when it kicks off if it needs charging! I got this as a birthday gift a couple of years ago from a friend that swore by hers, and can’t imagine not having it! It is even personalized with my name!

Lancome Renergie Eye Cream

Say goodbye to the morning puffy eye!

The last thing before bed is some more eye creme, and some Retin-A Micro. This Retin-A stuff is said to be a miracle workber, but it can be super drying! This eye cream is said to firm around the eyes to not only prevent wrinkles, but help you wake up without looking puffy! The only downside is that if I’ve let that area get sensitive, it kinda stings when I first apply it.

And there you have it!

All of my face stuff that I just love!

Stay tuned for the Face Stuff Part II where I go into what goes on the clean canvas that these products produce: MAKEUP!

This entry was posted in Bridal Must Haves. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

