Wedding Planning – Day 1

Today, I started planning my wedding.

Well… actually, I started planning the checklist.

I got this blog up and running, linked it to facebook and twitter accounts, and signed up at theknot.com. TheKnot is basically a one-stop-shop for brides that covers nearly everything!

When you register one of the only things you need (next to a name, and an email) is a wedding date. Oh, man… I had the other two! Since we haven’t really set a date yet, I thought that I would just pick one that I like:

December 12, 2012

…and with “only” 665 days until my wedding, I already have a checklist! Now, I planned to share with you my to-do list because… hey, that’s kind of what this blog is all about, right? Problem is: the to do list has 188 different things that I need to check off! Wow, if starting the blog didn’t wear me out… seeing a list that long sure did!

Here are the things that I should be doing soon as suggested by theknot.com :

Get organized! Start a notebook/file folder to house all your wedding-planning paperwork in one place, browse our Wedding Planning Basics area, and download The Knot Toolbar for easy access to all your online planning tools. <– how’s this blog for starters?

Envision your wedding style and wedding colors — formal, eggplant-and-gold hotel reception? Or a modern, black-and-white loft? Colorful, tented, backyard barbecue celebration? Or exotic, orange-and-yellow beach wedding? <–  Coming Soon! I have a vision that I can’t wait to share with you!

Decide on a wedding budget and hash out who’s contributing to the wedding. The Knot Hint: For a quick and easy way to determine your budget, use The Knot Wedding Budget Tool. <– So maybe I should rely on the accountant fiance on this one?

Protect your engagement ring! Make sure you have it appraised and insured. <– wahoo! Finally, something we’ve done! By we… I mean Kevin. In case you didn’t catch that I’m less than trustworthy in the safety department from The Proposal… Kevin could let you know that he certainly wasn’t giving me anything without making sure it was insured!

Send out a just-engaged video Ecard and submit an engagement announcement to the local newspaper. You may also want to have your engagement photos taken in time for this. <– we may want to have a date or venue to announce for this, right? I think I’ll wait some.

Choose a wedding date and time, and finalize after okaying with important guests (parents, siblings, and grandparents), ceremony and/or reception location, and ceremony officiant. Make sure your wedding date doesn’t fall on one of these days. <– Okay, I guess I can’t wait too long!

Envision your wedding dress. (It’s never too early!) Begin by figuring out which wedding dress style will look best on you. <–Here’s where YOU come in! I’m sure we will have more than one post devoted to this!

Get in wedding day shape by eating right, joining a gym, and/or even hiring a personal trainer. <– ewww.

Well, it sure looks like I’m going to be busy… Wish me luck!

http://www.theknot.com/

 


This entry was posted in Checklist Items. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wedding Planning – Day 1

  1. SO – after writing <–eewww to starting to work out on my blog last night… I came into my office, and plopped down into my chair… a wheel snapped off, and dumped me right into the floor.
    As I sat there wondering "Did that just happen?" …I realized that it was because of my comment on here!

    So, now I will go ahead and check that off of the list!
    Beginning a workout plan ASAP! Expect a blog whining and complaining about that soon!

Leave a Reply

